alert

CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) INFORMATION

white X to close events bar

Information

Fire Prevention

The mission of the Fire Prevention Division is to help prevent the occurrence of fire, protect lives and to preserve property through:

  • Enforcement
  • Education
  • Permitting and inspections
  • Plans review
Enforcement

Enforces all requirements of MGL Chapter 148, CMR 527, all adopted city fire codes and ordinances and administers all Permits and Licenses along with the necessary inspections to issue the same.

Education

Public safety awareness education in the identification and protection of common risks from fire and other potential hazards.

Permits and Inspections

Issues and inspects for many types of permits.

Plans Review

Review and approval of all fire protection documents in addition to witnessing a satisfactory functional test of all fire protection systems prior to the issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy. Specialist reviews of all building and fire protection system plans for compliance with the Massachusetts Fire Code are also conducted.

Ordinances

Contact Us

Fire Prevention Desk for general information 508 324-2740 fpbcomplaints@frfd.org
Plans Review/Systems/Tank Removal/Install /Investigations Inspector Paul Cote Ext 118 pcote@frfd.org
Plans Review/Oil Burners/Auto Body/Repair Inspector Roger Lambert Ext 115 rlambert@frfd.org
House Sales Smoke/Carbon Monoxide Detector Compliance/Complaints Inspector Todd Young Ext 117 tyoung@frfd.org
DPH/DPW Quarterly/Annual Inspections/Complaints Inspector Jason Campbell Ext 112 jcampbell@frfd.org
Public Education/Hydrant Inspections/SAFE Trailer Inspector Jeffrey Medeiros Ext 111 jmedeiros@frfd.org
Municipal Fire Alarm/ Public Education/Complaints Inspector Clayton Walker  Ext 114 cwalker@frfd.org
Investigations/Code Enforcement/Assistant City Fire Marshal Captain Neil Furtado 508 324-2732 or Ext 109 Fireprevention@frfd.org
Investigations/Code Enforcement/Fire Watch/ City Fire Marshal Deputy Fire Chief Roger St. Martin 508 324-2697 or Ext 110 deputyfpb@frfd.org